‘Danger Zone’: Avoid $570 Fine, Know MD School Bus Passing Laws

Brush up on the rules for driving through a Maryland school zone The 2018-19 school year starts Sept. 4.

By Deb Belt, Patch National Staff 

'Danger Zone': Avoid $570 Fine, Know MD School Bus Passing Laws

MARYLAND — The end of the Labor Day holiday weekend will mean schools start their new year across Maryland. That means drivers need to reminder to follow a few rules of the road and watch out for kids in crosswalks, riding their bikes in busy areas and getting off buses. Forgetting those rules — and being caught doing so — could carry a fine of close to $600 and other penalties for drivers or, even worse, cause a serious accident.

Maryland law requires drivers to stop for school buses when the buses engage flashing red lights. Drivers may not be able to see every child who gets off of a bus so proceed slowly until you are clear of the bus and pedestrians. The law also requires drivers to yield (stop) for pedestrians who are in a crosswalk. Failure to obey these laws may result in a citation but may also lead to an injury which could have been prevented, Annapolis Police say.

READ MORE:

https://patch.com/maryland/towson/s/gi28k/danger-zone-avoid-570-fine-know-md-school-bus-passing-laws?utm_source=newsletter-daily&utm_medium=email&utm_term=schools&utm_campaign=newsletter&utm_content=article-topstories

2018-08-30T10:20:19+00:00August 30th, 2018|Categories: laws, Safety Information, School News|Tags: |